The final matches have been set to determine the winners of the five brackets of the Northern Ohio Golf Association’s Match Play Championships.

Great Lakes Auto Scratch Series Matches

In the Championship Division of the Individual Match Play brackets, Avon Oaks’ Tim Skufca will take on Brian Polick from Weymouth/Fox Meadow for the title match. Skufca defeated current NOGA Player of the Year points leader Jeff Blechschmidt from Mayfield/Sand Ridge, while Polick beat Stonewater’s Zach Glassman in the semis.

In the Senior Division, Tom Baugh from Portage CC will take on Club Walden’s Tom Laubacher to determine the champion. Baugh got past current Senior POY leader / multiple POY winner Monty Guest of Signature of Solon with a 2-up win, while Laubacher bested Silver Lake’s Mark Guadagni by a score of 2&1.

In the Super Senior Division, Jeff Luken from Pine Hills will take on Barrington’s Richard Areddy to determine the winner in the age 65+ group.

For the NOGA Four-Ball Match Play championships, an individual finals competitor earned a place in the team better ball finals as well. Brian Polick will partner with Weymouth/Fox Meadow mate Patrick Gallagher as they take on the defending Four-Ball Match Play champions, Josh Clay + Kurt Peterson of Shady Hollow, for the title. Polick + Gallagher slipped past Oberlin’s Ben Farina + Columbia Hills’ Greg Kencson 1-up in the semis, while Clay + Peterson held off Stonewater’s Chris Okeson + Canterbury’s Steve Putinski by 2&1.

In the Senior Four-Ball finale, defending champions Jim Durr + Mark Guadagni of Silver Lake will take on Signature’s Monty Guest + Brian Sparrow from Canterbury. In the semi-finals, Durr + Guadagni got past the upset-minded Joe Denk + Ron Miller, while Guest + Sparrow beat back Mike Cassell + Tom Laubacher in 19 holes.

NOGA Net Match Play Championships

Matches have been set for the Upper and Lower Brackets in the Individual Net Match Play finals. In the Upper bracket, the 49th seeded Howard Berry of Stonewater will take on the #4 seed David Tomko from Valley of the Eagles. In the Lower bracket, #6 seed Dennis Fujka from Red Tail will go up against #10 Craig Dunlap of Quail Hollow.

In the Four-Ball Net Match Play bracket finals, the Upper Bracket match will be played between #32 Britt Lilley + Jeff Miller and #44 Irwin Mandel + Dan Rose. In the Lower Bracket, #22 seed will take on #23 seed: Mike Lintelman + Tom Meola vs. Doug Hartman + Greg Helmick.

Previous RESULTS: 2021 Amherst Steele vs Midview Boys High School Golf
Next UPDATE: 2021 CMG Player of the Year Standings