Dublin’s Bob Sowards can become the first repeat winner in 13 years and Cleveland’s Walt Robertson can become a three-time winner when the 35th Ohio Senior Open golf tournament is played on the West Course of Firestone Country Club on June 10-11.

Conducted by the Northern Ohio chapter of the Professional Golfers Association and sponsored by Michelob Ultra, the Ohio Senior Open is regarded as the state championship for players aged 50-59 (Main Division) and for players 60-and-over (Super Seniors) with handicaps of 8.0 or lower. Without question, it is the most prestigious senior event in Ohio.

2019 Senior Ohio Open Champ Bob Sowards
2019 Senior Ohio Open Champion Bob Sowards of Dublin.

Sowards, who turns 52 the day before the tournament, is the director of instruction at the Kinsale Golf and Fitness Center and is a rare three-time winner of the Ohio Open. He added the Senior Open title to his resume in his first try last year when he shot a final-round 7-under 63 for a 36-hole total of 8-under 132 over the West Course’s 6,469 yards.

Walt Robertson
Walt Robertson, 2019 Ohio Senior Open Super Senior Champion

Robertson, 67, can join former Canton Brookside pro Jim Logue as the only three-time winners in the Super Seniors Division. Robertson won his second Super Seniors title last year in a one-hole playoff. He also won in 2013.

The event will be contested over 36 holes with play beginning both days at 8 a.m. Spectators are permitted at no charge but must follow social distancing guidelines, as will the contestants.

The last man to win consecutive Ohio Senior Open titles was former Findlay Country Club Director of Golf Tom Herzan in 2006-2007.

Approximately 100 players, amateurs as well as professionals, are expected to compete at Firestone. That includes Gary Robison, of Canton Brookside Country Club, the only four-time winner of the event. Robison last won in 2018 after winning previously in 2004, 2010 and 2015.

Previous 2020 Greater Cleveland Skins Game: Week 2 Results
Next RD1 RESULTS: 2020 Northeast Ohio Amateur Championship