RESULTS: 2021 NOHIO.GOLF Firecracker 2-Am Better Ball

Phil Bojc and Chris Okeson, 2021 NOHIO.GOLF Firecracker 2-Am Better Ball Champions
Phil Bojc and Chris Okeson, 2021 NOHIO.GOLF Firecracker 2-Am Better Ball Champions.

NOHIO.GOLF Tournament SeriesChris Okeson and Phil Bojc lapped the field at The Quarry Golf Club in Canton on Friday, using a pitch-in eagle at the par-5 11th to jumpstart a sizzling back nine that lead to a 3-shot victory in the NOHIO.GOLF Firecracker 2-Am Better Ball.

On a windy afternoon playing in the second group of the day, Okeson and Bojc turned the front nine in a standard 2-under par, then ripped apart the beginning of the back side: a birdie at 10, an eagle at 11 (good for a skin), then birdies at 13 and 15.

The champions were the only team that went bogey-free on the day.

Tommy Miano and Connor McCaulley at The Quarry
Tommy Miano advises Connor McCaulley on his par putt at the 18th.

Connor McCaulley and Tommy Miano were putting heat on the leaders in the clubhouse, getting to 6-under par with three holes left to play. But bogies at the difficult 17th and 18th holes put them into a tie for second place with Dave Oates and Vaughn Snyder, who made birdie at the last to reach 4-under par.

Dave Oates and Vaughn Snyder
Dave Oates putts as partner Vaughn Snyder watches on.

There were five skins winners on the day, which included two par-5 eagles, birdies at the tough 8th and 16th par-fours, and a simple birdie at the 120-yard par-3 12th.

JR Luxury BathNo player came close to making an ace on the par-3 ninth hole, which was the JR Bath Hole-in-One Extravaganza hole good for a $10,000 remodeling project. But there are two more chances to win that prize during the remainder of the season.

Complete results from The Quarry below. PHOTO GALLERY HERE >

The next event on the NOHIO.GOLF Series calendar is the NOHIO.GOLF Championship at Raintree Golf & Event Center in Green on Friday, Sep 3rd. This 18-hole individual stroke play event is open to all amateur players with variable tees by age/gender. It has a second built-in event for NOHIO.GOLF GHIN members: a club championship and the right to play in NOGA’s Tournament of Champions at The Country Club in Pepper Pike!

2021 Firecracker 2-Am Better Ball

The Quarry Golf Club, Canton, Ohio
Friday, July 2, 2021

1 Chris Okeson + Phil Bojc (Powell, Lyndhurst) 65 $840.00

T2 Dave Oates + Vaughn Snyder (Canton, Massillon) 68 $510.00
T2 Connor McCaulley + Tommy Miano (Stow) 68 $510.00

T4 Allen Freeman + Justin Trzebuckowski (Brecksville, Broadview Heights) 69 $163.33
T4 Jim Krivanek + Mike Simpson (Beechwood, Uniontown) 69 $163.33
T4 Jimmy Wild + Steve Blackburn Jr. (Mentor, Sagamore Hills) 69 $163.33

T7 Aaron Crewse + Shaun Kloetzer (Akron, Fairlawn) 70 $16.67
T7 Adam Ellison + Daniel Jurcich (Ostrander, Powell) 70 $16.67
T7 Mark Kocurko + Ron Skirpstas (Middleburg Heights, Medina) 70 $16.67

T10 Kyle Jones + Quinn Parker (Canton 71
T10 Ryan Stefanski + Tyler Watkins (Sagamore Hills, Medina) 71
T10 Shawn Mills + Tim Mills (New Philadelphia) 71
T10 Antonio Bodziony + Thomas Piore (Mentor, Willoughby) 71
14 Jay Hollifield + Mike Mazzan (Canton) 72
T15 Brian Gamble + Matthew Frey (Broadview Heights, Massillon) 73
T15 Billy Sheak + Joe Evans (Hartville, Alliance) 73
T17 Emily Baumgartner + Evan McCauley (Tallmadge, Wadsworth) 74
T17 Matt Shoup + HJ Wenger (Dalton) 74
T19 Fred Miller + Larry Lahnan (Aurora) 75
T19 Dan Tuleta + Matt Cooper (North Ridgeville, North Olmsted) 75
T19 Adam Arman + Mike Patton (Massillon) 75
T22 Blake Ring-Fish + Emily Holzopfel (Rayland) 76
T22 John Hahn + John Oyster (Cranberry PA, Kent) 76
T22 Ed Diebold + Shayne Bishop (New Franklin, Akron) 76
T25 Michael Renner + Mike Musacchia (Wadsworth, Dublin) 78
T25 Paul Malkus + Kevin Price (Streetsboro, Northfield Twp.) 78
27 Dennis Royer + Duy Trinh (Galena, Powell) 81
28 Dan Terry + Mark Thomas (Jackson Township, Brunswick) 83
T29 Jeff Tyler + Matt Bright (Kent, Tallmadge) 95
T29 Daniel Cole + Ethan Cole (Canton) 95

SKINS: $240 ea
Adam Ellison + Daniel Jurcich – Eagle on 7
Bodziony, Antonio + Piore, Thomas – Birdie on 8
Chris Okeson + Phil Bojc – Eagle on 11
Brian Gamble + Matthew Frey – Birdie on 12
Jay Hollifield + Mike Mazzan – Birdie on 16