PREVIEW: 34th NOPGA Senior Professional Championship

Northern Ohio PGAProving that golf is a game for a lifetime the senior members of the Northern Ohio Section of the Professional Golfers Association of America take center stage this week.

The 34th NOPGA Senior Professional Championship will be held Thursday and Friday, August 18-19, at Westbrook Country Club in Mansfield.

The stakes for the 36-hole stroke-play event are high as the 2022 season embarks on a stretch of important events for the Northern Ohio Section. Six “major” events will be staged between now and the end of the season in mid-October.


This race heavily influences the SENIOR PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD. Currently, Gary Rusnak (1899 Golf, CLE East) leads the race with 283.33 points. Mitch Camp (Club Walden) is second at 253.50 and Tom Atchison (PGA Lifetime Member) is third at 212.00.

The top four finishers automatically qualify for the SENIOR PROFESSIONAL NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP, to be held at the Twin Warrior Golf Club in Santa Ana Pueblo, New Mexico, October 13-16, 2022. Four alternates also will be named.

As the results affect the Points Race, they also will help determine the Senior Members of the NOPGA Team in the 26th Ohio Cup, the competition between the NOPGA and its counterparts from the Southern Ohio PGA. The Ryder Cup-style event will be played at Barrington Golf Club in Aurora, Oct. 3-5, 2022.

The Senior Professional purse is close to $6,000 with the winner taking home $1,200.


With rounds of 66-69 for a 36-hole total of 7-under 135, Gary Rusnak (1899 Golf, CLE East) won the championship last year at Lakewood Country Club. Rob Moss (Pepper Pike Club) was second at 69-68-137, Mitch Camp (Club Walden) was third at 68-70-138 and Tom Atchison (PGA of America Life Member) captured the final spot at 69-71-140. Those four qualified for the National Championship. The four alternates were Steve Stone (McDivots Driving Range), Gary Trivisonno (PGA of America Life Member), Tony Adcock (Seven Hills Country Club) and Scott Pollack (1899 Golf CLE East).


Former Section member and NOPGA Hall-of-Famer Gary Robison won this event a record six times (2020, 2018, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2005). Former Canton Brookside Country Club Head Professional and NOPGA Hall-of-Famer Jim Logue is second with five victories and PGA of America Life Member Gary Trivisonno won it four times. In all, there have been seven players with multiple victories. In addition to the above that list includes Tom Herzan (2007-2006-2003), George Bellino (1991-1987-1985), Tony Milam (2015, 2017) and Dick Schwartz (1990, 1988).


2021: Gary Rusnak
2020: Gary Robison
2019: Steve Stone
2018: Gary Robison
2017: Tony Milam
2016: Gary Robison
2015: Tony Milam
2014: Mitch Camp
2013: Gary Robison
2012: Gary Robison
2011: Gary Trivisonno
2010: Gary Trivisonno
2009: Gary Trivisonno
2008: Gary Trivisonno
2007: Tom Herzan
2006: Tom Herzan
2005: Gary Robison
2004: Charlie Wood
2003: Tom Herzan
2002: Gary Wilkins
2001: Tom Fussaro
2000: Fred Schneller
1999: Deon Good
1998: Bryan Abbott
1997: Jim Logue
1996: Martin Roesink
1995: Jim Logue
1994: Jim Logue
1993: Jim Logue
1992: Jim Logue
1991: George Bellino
1990: Dick Schwartz
1989: Jim Richardson
1988: Dick Schwartz
1987: George Bellino
1986: Don Olney
1985: George Bellino

Photo of author

Tim Rogers

Tim is a Contributing Editor to the Northern Ohio PGA and to Northern Ohio Golf. Award-winning golf writer and sports reporter for the Plain Dealer, retired. Contributor to the Akron Beacon Journal, Canton Repository, AP, and many national publications.

  Van Nostran Young Insurance AgencyVan Nostran Young Insurance 

  Get Your Golf Christmas Gifts at Windmill Golf Center!Get Your Golf Christmas Gifts at Windmill Golf Center! 

  The Golf DomeThe Golf Dome Winter Simulator League 

Thomas A. Skidmore Akron Attorney
G&G Fitness Equipment
Crest Roofing | Bobby Spino 330-577-6658
Picketts Golf Services
Cleveland Golf Show
Standard Legal: Self-Help Legal Forms Software & Document Preparation Services