PREVIEW: 2024 Joe Haase Cup

Joe Haase Cup logo small72 competitors representing four junior tours will compete this Saturday, April 20th at Firestone Country Club’s North Course for the 2024 Joe Haase Cup.

Those four junior tours are the Central Ohio Golf Academy, the Northern Ohio PGA Juniors, the Toledo Junior Golf Association, and the North Coast Junior Tour.

The Joe Haase Cup format changed in 2022 to an 18-hole individual Stroke Play competition using Stableford scoring. Since that change, the team earning the most combined points from all of the divisions is crowned the Cup champion. (The results from 2019 and prior were contested under Match Play format, 2 points for a win and 1 point for a tie.)

Last year, the Central Ohio Golf Academy (COGA) junior team won the Joe Haase Cup with 433 points under the Stableford Stroke Play format. COGA’s girls had the largest points margin over the second-place Northern Ohio PGA juniors team, 121 to 108. The boy’s divisions were 4- and 5-point margins. The grand total was a 22-point margin of victory by COGA over NOPGA.

Alexander Eckstein (NOPGA) was the medalist with 37 points (4 birdies), David Swab (NOPGA) finished second with 35 points (including 4 birdies), and McKenzie Miller (COGA) was the back-to-back girls medalist with 34 points.

Saturday’s competition marks the 26th Anniversary of the event, which started as the Tour Challenge in 1999. In 2002, the event was renamed the Joe Haase Cup in memory of our good friend Joe Haase, the golf professional at Shaker Heights Country Club, a past President of the Northern Ohio PGA, and a good friend to junior golf, locally and nationally.

Watch this website for complete results after Saturday’s play.

2024 Joe Haase Cup Rosters

Central Ohio Junior Academy

Grant Ruffing Boys 17-19
Bennett Hill Boys 17-19
Gabe Scherer Boys 17-19
John McClelland Boys 17-19
Will Streby Boys 17-19
Noah Mulford Boys 17-19
Gavin Gress Boys 16 & U
Blake Hartman Boys 16 & U
Hudson Burkey Boys 16 & U
Zachary Ayers Boys 16 & U
Nolan Kniese Boys 16 & U
Ethan Krebs Boys 16 & U
Gracie James Girls 19 & U
Addie Yarbrough Girls 19 & U
Dakota Riley Girls 19 & U
Avery Thompson Girls 19 & U
Brynn Harstine Girls 19 & U
Taylor Harstine Girls 19 & U

Northern Ohio PGA Juniors

Ryan Dinan Boys 17-19
Daniel Gambone Boys 17-19
Trey Lautenschleger Boys 17-19
Nathan Menapace Boys 17-19
Aryan Ahlawat Boys 17-19
Silas Kirkpatrick Boys 17-19
Fitch Farina Boys 16 & U
Alexander Eckstein Boys 16 & U
Cameron Stafford Boys 16 & U
Dexter James Boys 16 & U
Ryan Czenszak Boys 16 & U
Dominic Castelluccio Boys 16 & U
Serena Wu Girls 19 & U
Gracyn Vidovic Girls 19 & U
Emily Burling Girls 19 & U
Kristina Chill Girls 19 & U
Alexandria Vardon Girls 19 & U
Julia Van Bokkelen Girls 19 & U

Toledo Junior Golf Association

Payson Dotson Boys 17-19
Josh Weisenburger Boys 17-19
Noah Miles Boys 17-19
Kasen Kauffman Boys 17-19
Noah Huard Boys 17-19
Jayce Yarad Boys 17-19
Charlie Swigert Boys 16 & U
Jack Leppelmeier Boys 16 & U
Taleon Guess Boys 16 & U
Grady Short Boys 16 & U
Bode Briggs Boys 16 & U
Evan Maki Boys 16 & U
Sydney Deal Girls 19 & U
Emma Myers Girls 19 & U
Sophia Stanton Girls 19 & U
Marin Gaubert Girls 19 & U
Madison Mitchell Girls 19 & U
Sydney Simpson Girls 19 & U

North Coast Junior Tour

Jackson Pinney Boys 17-19
Matthew Contipelli Boys 17-19
Mason Feather Boys 17-19
Anthony Frank Boys 17-19
Alex Mylen Boys 17-19
Andrew Betz Boys 17-19
Koen Van Scoy Boys 16 & U
Will Cody Boys 16 & U
Lincoln Miller Boys 16 & U
Jacob Rainieri Boys 16 & U
Declan Jackson Boys 16 & U
Mario Daher Boys 16 & U
Siena Maschke Girls 19 & U
Elena Varga Girls 19 & U
Yumi Kohara Girls 19 & U
Macey McGhee Girls 19 & U
Charlie Tzefronis Boys 17-19
Ethan Olszowy Boys 16 & U


Leave a Comment

Photo of author

Tony Milam

Tony is the Executive Director of the North Coast Junior Tour.

Thomas A. Skidmore Akron Attorney
Boulder Creek Golf Club
Kaulig Companies Championship
Crest Roofing | Bobby Spino 330-577-6658
Five Iron Golf Clveland
Busha Okeson Insurance
Cavitch Familo & Durkin