USGA logoHistoric Inverness Club, in Toledo, Ohio, has been chosen by the USGA to serve as the host site for the 129th U.S. Amateur Championship.

The dates of the championship are August 13-19, 2029. The stroke play co-host course will be named at a later date.

The Toledo facility opened in 1903 and Donald Ross was hired in 1916 to design an 18-hole layout of outstanding championship caliber. The course went through several modifications over its history, with the most recent being Andrew Green’s acclaimed efforts to restore the layout to its early 20th century feel. The par-71 course can play at more than 7,700 yards, with 90 bunkers and small, undulating bentgrass greens.

Inverness Club will be hosting its ninth USGA championship and second U.S. Amateur. Eventual major champion Craig Stadler won the 1973 U.S. Amateur at Inverness.

“The growth of the U.S. Amateur over the last 100 years has been phenomenal, and earlier this year we saw near record-high entries for the championship,” said John Bodenhamer, senior managing director, Championships. “Part of that growth is a commitment by the USGA to take the championship to the best courses in the country, and Inverness is certainly among that group. We look forward to continuing our partnership with them with another U.S. Amateur.”

“All of us at Inverness Club are thrilled to be hosting the 2029 U.S. Amateur Championship,” said John Swigart, chair of future championships. “Our incredible history with the USGA dates to 1920, when we first hosted the U.S. Open, and ever since, their friendship, partnership and recognition of our golf course have been an important part of the fabric of our club. We can’t wait to again host the best amateur golfers in the world for what will surely be an exemplary championship.”

In addition to the 1973 Amateur, the club has also hosted four U.S. Opens. Ted Ray won the 1920 Open by one stroke over four players, including Harry Vardon. It was four-time champion Bob Jones’ first U.S. Open, and he finished in a tie for eighth place. Billy Burke (1931) and Dick Mayer (1957) won U.S. Opens at Inverness in playoffs, with Burke prevailing over George Von Elm in 72 playoff holes, the most in U.S. Open and major championship history. Hale Irwin earned the second of his three U.S. Open victories at Inverness in 1979, prevailing by two strokes over past champions Gary Player and Jerry Pate.

The club also hosted the 2003 U.S. Senior Open, won by Bruce Lietzke by two strokes over Tom Watson; the 2011 Senior Open, won by Olin Browne by three strokes over Mark O’Meara; and the 2019 U.S. Junior Amateur, won by Preston Summerhays.

Inverness was the site of two PGA Championships (1986, 1993) and two NCAA Championships (1944, 2009), and most recently hosted the 2021 Solheim Cup, in which Europe secured a second victory on U.S. soil, 15-13 over the USA.


No Comment

Leave a reply

Previous RESULTS: 2021 Mill Creek Snowbird 4-M Scramble
Next Condoleezza Rice Named Firestone's 2022 Ambassador of Golf