FINAL RESULTS: 2018 ADGA Golfer of the Year Tournament

ADGA Golfer of the Year at Fairlawn Country Club

Due to excessive rainfall overnight in the Akron area on October 6th, Fairlawn Country Club had to close its golf course because of unplayable conditions. So the ADGA had to cancel the second day of its season-ending Golfer of the Year Tournament, and the scores shot on Saturday became official final results with the tournament shortened to one day.

Brian SmithIn the Championship Division, Brian Smith of Amherst (pictured) shot an even par 70 for a 1-shot victory over Akron’s Don Padgett III 71. Jimmy Wild, who played with Smith, shot 72 which was good for third.

Rick BrysonSenior Division winner Rick Bryson (pictured) was in the last group on Saturday and posted an even par score of 70 to break a five-player tie at 72. Rick has won back-to-back ADGA GOY titles.

In a five-way tie for second place at 72 were Tom Baugh, David Trier, Bobby Spino, Bruno Chirumbolo and Fairlawn Senior Club Champ Jeff Leonard.

The ADGA will either issue a refund and/or a credit towards the 2019 golf season of $55.00 for those who were to tee it up on Sunday (excluding the two Fairlawn members). Please drop the ADGA an email as to your choice.

Finally, the ADGA would like to thank everyone at Fairlawn CC — especially PGA Pro Dave Mottice — for the first-class treatment they extended to the ADGA and its members.

Akron District Golf AssociationFINAL RESULTS: Akron District Golf Association
2018 Golfer of the Year Tournament

presented by Tire Source
Fairlawn Country Club, Akron OH
Saturday, October 6, 2018

Tire Source


Brian Smith 70   $380
Don Padgett III 71   $280
Jimmy Wild 72   $180
Shaun Kloetzer 73
Brian Vincelette 74
Alex Loftin 75
Matt Frey 76
John Karamas 77
Ryan Stefanski 77
Josh Prok 79
Mark Schneider 81
Mike Armour 83
Mike Shisler 87
Aaron Crewse NC

Wild 3 on #1
Prok 3 on #3
Vincelette 2 on #9
Schneider 3 on #15


Rick Bryson 70   $400
Tom Baugh 72   $180
Bruno Chirumbolo 72   $180
Jeff Leonard 72   $180
Bobby Spino 72   $180
Dave Trier 72   $180
Larry Lahnan 73
Rob Schustrich 73
Jim Durr 74
Doug Fleming 74
Jim Cea 75
Brian Huntley 75
Tom Luckenbaugh 75
Fred Martin 76
Tom Skidmore 76
Jim Niskanen 77
Mark Thomas 77
Fred Miller 78
Tom Stack 78
Dean Cutlip 80
Ed Marsinek 80
Jeff Dean 81
Bill Downing 81
Joe Hedrick 81
Dennis Berkheimer 82
Doug Hull 82
Allen Freeman NC
Raul Mendoza NC

Cutlip 3 on #2
Fleming 3 on #7
Skidmore 3 on #8
Schustrich 2 on #9
Baugh 3 on #11
Hedrick 2 on #16
Chirumbolo 2 on #18

Previous RD1 RESULTS: 2018 ADGA Golfer of the Year
Next FINAL RESULTS: 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Cleveland Qualifier