Crider Pushes, But Brick Prevails in 2010 Senior Cleveland Amateur Championship

Cleveland Metroparks Golf
2010 Senior Cleveland Amateur Champion Norton Brick
Norton Brick strikes his tee shot on the 18th in the final round of the Senior Cleveland Am

Cleveland Amateur Golf Championships In Friday’s second round of the 2010 Senior Cleveland Amateur Championship at Big Met, many expected newly-crowned Senior Northeast Ohio Am champ Norton Brick to run out to another win.

But it was Randy Crider who did the early running, and Brick had to play catch up.

Playing three groups ahead of the leaders, Crider raced out to a 3-under par 33 front nine and caught Brick and his first round co-leader John Iosue at the turn, as both players struggled to 39 on the front side.

Crider then took the lead in the championship with a huge birdie-2 on the 201-yard par-three 12th hole, unbeknownst to Brick and Iousu.

Brick pulled into a tie on the 14th when both Crider and Iosue made bogey, but he gave the lead right right back with a bogey of his own on the 15th. Crider held on to that one-shot lead after he and Brick both birdied the 16th hole, while Iosue fell further back with a par on the par-5.

But the strong run by Crider ended when he made bogey the short par-4 17th hole against Brick’s birdie, and that two shot swing made the final difference in the tournament.

A bogey on 18 by Crider put him into a tie with Iosue for second place, two shots behind winner Norton Brick.

In the Super Senior Division (ages 60-69), Tom Flanigan won by three shots with a score of 3-over par 147, while Jimmy Rockow took the Super Senior Gold Division (ages 70+) by five shots.

Because Brick is already exempt into the 2010 Cleveland Amateur at Manakiki in three weeks, the next five finishers in the Senior Am earned an exemption into that field: Iosue, Crider, Scott Heran, Ray Prokop and Steve Blackburn Sr.

2010 Senior Cleveland Amateur Winners
Norton Brick, Jimmy Rockow and Tom Flanigan show off their hardware.

Big Met Golf Course, Fairview Park, Ohio – Par 72 – July 15-16th

Norton Brick6773140
Randy Crider7369142
John Iosue6775142
Scott Heran7371144
Ray Prokop7272144
Steve Blackburn Sr.7471145
Tom Flanigan7374147
Andrew Jendre7474148
Charles Derr7375148
Michael Mintz7970149
Matt Timmons7574149
Fred Colli7773150
Greg Tayler7575150
Rick Moncol7278150
Rod Hill7278150
Dave Kriak7774151
Marc Pogachar7774151
Jerry Miller7576151
Ward Watkins7576151
Bob DeJulius8072152
James Sidun7874152
Joe Battaglia7577152
Dave Donofrio7181152
John Niedzialek8073153
Mike Patterson8073153
Rick Jaskolski7875153
Dan Bania7578153
Dan Deitzel7578153
Joseph Smith7876154
Jim Herchek7777154
Brian Kerns7579154
Greg Navis7183154
Jaime Serrat7976155
Jimmy Rockow7580155
Pluto, Keith8373156
Jack Cox7977156
Paul Woznicki7779156
Ray Najda7779156
Kevin Peterson8176157
Dale Partlo8077157
Daniel Margulies7582157
Super Senior Division: Age 60-69 (top finishers)
Tom Flanigan7374147
Fred Colli7773150
Rod Hill7278150
Dave Kriak7774151
Ward Watkins7576151
Joe Battaglia7577152
Dave Donofrio7181152
Dan Bania7578153
Doug Brady8771158
Joe Weidner8177158
Super Senior Gold Division, 70 years+
Jimmy Rockow7580155
Raymond Beach7981160
Don Rader8279161
Bill Bowers8483167
Eugene Hicks8584169
Previous FINAL RESULTS: 2010 Ohio Amateur Championship
Next Stone Wins 2010 Tiger Town Open