Brian Smith and Norton Brick Earn 2012 Northern Ohio Golf Association Player of the Year Awards

Northern Ohio Golf Association

Northern Ohio Golf Association

For the first time in the 17-year history of the awards, two members from the same club earned the NOGA Player of the Year titles.

Brian Smith and Norton Brick – both of Oberlin Golf Club – are the 2012 NOGA Players of the Year.

2012 NOGA Player of the Year: Brian Smith, Oberlin Golf Club

Smith captured his second NOGA Player of the Year title in the past three years after also finishing third and fourth on the points list in alternate years. His consistent play this season was highlighted by nine top-5 finishes, including victories in the season-long Match Play Championship as well as the Tournament of Champions after firing a 1-under 71 in very wet and challenging conditions.

Brian SmithSeason Highlights
Match Play Champion – Stroke Play
1st – Tournament of Champions
1st – Jumble Championship
T1 – Stableford Championship
3rd – Fall Four-Ball Championship
T3 – Four-Ball (AA) Championship
T3 – Summer Stroke Play Championship
5th – Two-Man Scramble
T5 – Stroke Play Championship
Club Champion: Oberlin Golf Club

2012 NOGA Senior Player of the Year: Norton Brick, Oberlin Golf Club

Following another season of consistent play, Brick earned his second consecutive NOGA Senior Player of the Year on the strength of eight top-5 finishes. Brick had three wins this season including his second Northeast Ohio Amateur title in the past three years. He also finished third in the Ohio Senior Amateur and qualified for the 58th USGA Senior Amateur Championship by earning medalist honors with a 1-under 70 during sectional qualifying.

Norton BrickSeason Highlights
1st – 82nd Northeast Ohio Amateur – Senior
Medalist – U.S. Senior Amateur Qualifying
T3 – Ohio Senior Amateur Championship
1st – Fall Four-Ball Championship
1st – Stableford Championship
T2 – Seniors West Championship
T4 – Summer Stroke Play Championship
5th – Seniors East Championship
T10 – Stroke Play Championship


Complete Player of the Year Points List here.

Smith and Brick will be honored during the NOGA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, October 24 at Firestone Country Club.

Previous Want to Attend the 2013 Masters on Saturday and Sunday for Just $100?
Next Blackburn Jr. Wins 2012 Thompson Cup as Greater Cleveland Skins Game Champion