2024 Kiely Cup Field Announced

Mike Kiely and Craig Fraser
Mike Kiely and Craig Fraser
September 8th and 9th marks the 20th Anniversary of Canterbury’s Kiely Cup! It also marks our 19th tournament, no thanks to Covid in 2020.

The Kiely Cup commenced on September 19, 2005, with twelve elite teams; Hudson won by a stroke over Medina. The boys were treated to two luminaries of the game that evening. The banquet speakers were Canterbury’s legendary club champ, 1993 Ohio Amateur champion, Bob Fairchild, together with his good friend, the late Bob Lewis—former United States Amateur runner-up and Walker Cup player & captain. Overwhelmed might best describe the look on the boys’ faces.

The following year, 15 schools were invited, where the field stands today. Since the start, eighty-six schools from Ohio’s three divisions have graced the tournament.

Bill Reilly’s Walsh Jesuit teams have won the most (2007-2010-2013-2015).

Cleveland’s St. Ignatius won in 2006 and 2011, but they also hold the distinction of being runner-up seven times!

We’ve had two back-to-back champions: University School (2008-09) and St. Xavier (2016-17).

From 2005 to 2014, the tournament was a one-day, bring-your-best game — call it an 18-hole shoot-out. Dayton Oakwood’s (2012) winning score (301) was the lowest recorded.

In 2014, we decided to give the teams the chance to play a game resembling a collegiate tournament by adding another day. The 36-hole Kiely Cup ran from Sunday afternoon to conclusion on Monday.

In 2022, Mason set the 36-hole tournament record low. Coach Tom Lambert arrived with his Mason Comets and blew away the field with a 589 (300-289) two-day total. You could say they won in part, thanks to tournament medalist Nate Vonderhaar shooting 2-under par 142. Ignatius finished second, 20 strokes back.

The Kiely Cup also serves to be a glimpse into who will prevail at State in October. St. Ignatius finished second behind Archbishop Hoban and Mason in 2021 and 2022, respectively, yet prevailed in Columbus both years and were aptly crowned state champions over (yes) Hoban and Mason!

This year’s tournament promises to distinguish teams with the best chance to succeed in Columbus come October.

2023 Archbishop Hoban Boys Golf Team, Kiely Cup champs
The 2023 Archbishop Hoban Boys Golf Team, Kiely Cup champions

2024 Canterbury Kiely Cup Field, Coaches

Archbishop Alter Knights — Alex Schuster
Archbishop Hoban Knights — Quinn Parker
*Bellbrook Golden Eagles — Jeffrey Scohy
*Hiland Hawks — Austin Kaufman
Hudson Explores — Matt Villenauve
JFK (Warren) Eagles — James LaPolla
Medina Battling Bees — Michael Mozingo
Olentangy Liberty Patriots — Ryan Snivley
*St. Clairsville Red Devils — Ryan Clifford
*St. Francis de Sales Knights — Dan Sutton
St. Ignatius Wildcats — Kevin Neitzel
St. Xavier Bombers — Alex Kepley
University School Preppers — Mike Sarris
Upper Arlington — Troy Arbaugh
Walsh Jesuit Warriors — Bill Reilly

*First-time invitees

2023 Kiely Cup co-medalists: Hoban's Chris Pollak (l), Mike Kiely (c), and Alter's David Gochenouer (r).
2023 Kiely Cup co-medalists: Hoban’s Chris Pollak (l), Mike Kiely (c), and Alter’s David Gochenouer (r).

Leave a Comment

Photo of author

Craig Fraser

Fraser is tournament director of the Kiely Cup and a member at Canterbury Golf Club.

Thomas A. Skidmore Akron Attorney
Boulder Creek Golf Club
Kaulig Companies Championship
Crest Roofing | Bobby Spino 330-577-6658
Five Iron Golf Clveland
Busha Okeson Insurance
Cavitch Familo & Durkin