Bailey Wins NEO Am in a Shocker

Andrew Bailey 2014 NEO Am Champion
Michael Balcar and Andrew Bailey separated themselves from the rest of the field in the 2014 Northeast Ohio Amateur.
Michael Balcar and Andrew Bailey separated themselves from the rest of the field in the 2014 Northeast Ohio Amateur.

Rocky River resident and Cleveland State player Andrew Bailey posted two strong scores in rounds 3 and 4 at The Country Club in Pepper Pike to win the 2014 Northeast Ohio Amateur Invitational by a tidy four shots with a four-round total of 7-under par.

But it’s the way it happened that shocked everyone watching.

Michael Balcar, another Cleveland State player who hails from Toledo, led most of the way for the 2014 NEO Am. Both he and Bailey separated themselves from the rest of the field with second round scores of 66 at Madison Country Club, turning the final 36 holes into a two player race.

In Round 3 in the morning at Country, Balcar posted a 71 to Bailey’s 74 to go up five shots . Balcar had a 9-under par total after 54 holes.

Michael Balcar tees off at The Country Club in the final round of the 2014 Northeast Ohio Am.
Michael Balcar tees off at The Country Club in the final round of the 2014 Northeast Ohio Am.

Bailey birdied the first two holes of the afternoon round to close the gap. Balcar bogeyed holes 3 and 5 before making birdie at 6 to right the ship. Both players bogeyed 7, and Balcar bogeyed 10 to lead by just one shot with 8 holes to play.

But then Balcar birdied the 11th and 12th holes to go 3 shots up, and looked to have the championship well in hand. Until it wasn’t.

On 17, Balcar drove it in the middle of the fairway, and from there hit into the greenside bunker. He left his first bunker shot in the bunker, then bladed the next one over the green into high grass. He hacked out of the high grass then chipped on the green and two-putted for a quad 8. Then he bogeyed 18 as well.

Jim DurrMeanwhile, Bailey birdied 16 and 17 and made par at the last to win the tournament in a stunning turn-around. His strong finish gave him a total score of 7-under par 280.

In the Senior Division, Jim Durr of Silver Lake (shown at right) won by a single shot with a score of 5-over par 220, outlasting Mike Cassell and Marc Fried.

Complete results from both divisions are listed below.


Northern Ohio Golf Association
FINAL RESULTS: Northern Ohio Golf Association’s
2014 Northeast Ohio Amateur Invitational

Round 1 at Silver Lake Country Club on Monday, June 16
Round 2 at Madison Golf Club on Wednesday, June 18
Rounds 3 and 4 at The Country Club on Monday, June 23



PosPlayerR1R2R3R4TotalTo Par
1Andrew Bailey71667469280-7
2Michael Balcar69667178284-3
3Dennis Holub Jr737973712969
T4Charlly Pak7869757529710
T4Doug Barber7371787529710
T4Brian Smith7272777629710
7Tristan Lewis7074738129811
T8Dan Grincewicz7674757630114
T8Joe Tornabene8068767730114
T10Bud Radis7870787630215
T10Anthony Yacovazzi7573787630215
12Dan Winar7478787530518
T13Austin Schreiber7775797530619
T13Kory Oslie7977747630619
T13Mark Olbrych7681707930619
T13Steve Hiltebrant7571808030619
17Paul Minko7476778030720
18Saumil Jhaveri7375808030821
T19Mark Borlin7776787830922
T19Ian Hardesty7575807930922
T19Thomas Lydic7377768330922
22Blake Sword8175827331124
T23Robert Schustrich7483797631225
T23Mike Bishop7679807731225
T23Nicholas Paxos7778787931225
26Jimmy Wild7678778231326
27Scott McRill8077808031730
T28Greg Kencson8180768131831
T28Evan Lerner7779818131831
T30Bryn Irvine7680868032235
T30Mark Hach7883818032235
32Peter Joyce7977828632437
33Alex Talbott8572898232841
34Alex Loftin7986818332942
35Joe Ribelli7977859033144
36Seth Pech8081878433245
37Kyle Matus8780818733548
38Brennan Brooker8380888533649
39Jim Grosso7980918733750
40Joe Bojc7881859533952
41Mark Telerico848077NC



PosPlayerR1R2R3TotalTo Par
1Jim Durr7071792205
T2Mike Cassell7473742216
T2Marc Fried7276732216
4Rick Areddy74797322611
T5Monty Guest74797422712
T5Jeffrey Knox74747922712
7Norton Brick73787822914
8Rick Merrow74827423015
T9Bryan Warnica73768323217
T9Jim Harless72837723217
T11Tom Cawley74778223318
T11Keith Pluto77748223318
T13Joe Roller75788123419
T13Larry Lahnan77797823419
15Scott Heran78778123621
16Tim Baker80797823722
T17Steve Bedell79778323924
T17David Devault79758523924
19Jim Corcoran79798524328
T20John Dmytriw79818524530
T20George Papas77848424530
22Ron Miller81818624833
23Hugh Morgan84818424934
24Dennis Cendrowski83828925439
25Phil Howren79898825641
26Pete Manuguerra88909227055