Dave Sotka Wins 2011 Thompson Cup and Greater Cleveland Skins Game Championship

Greater Cleveland Skins Game

2011 Greater Cleveland Skins Game final groupThe top four players on the 2011 Greater Cleveland Skins Game Leaderboard always play in the final group in the final event of the season at Powderhorn Golf Course in Madison.

This year, those four players were (left to right) Dave Sotka, Carl “Unk” Quercioli, Dan Predovic, Mark White.

When none of those top-four competitors earned a earned a skin or a pinshot at Powderhorn, Dave Sotka of Chardon walked away with the 2011 Greater Cleveland Skins Game Championship, and with it his second Thompson Cup.

Greater Cleveland Skins GameSotka finished with 9 skins and 5 pinshots on the year, good for a season total of $1728.22. This was Sotka’s second Skins Game Championship; his last Thompson Cup win came in 2007. Sotka bettered his 2007 season total by $750.

After receiving the Thompson Cup, Sotka remarked, “The reality is that this is a skins game and I was real fortunate to have birdies and eagles hold up on the right holes. With that being said, it was a strong field this year and I am happy I could come out on top.”

For that final event night of the season (a “˜Double-Down’ night with double the normal entry fee stakes), 17 players participated and three skins were won worth $260.00 each.

Steve Blackburn Jr. earned a fantastic eagle skin by hitting a 3-wood from 240 yards out to 2-feet on the par five 16th hole. Brian Perkins made birdie on the long par four 10th hole, and Mark Foss scored a birdie on the par-3 14th hole.

Pin shot winner were Mike Angie on the 14th hole worth $108, and Paul Kish on the 17th hole earning the Mulligan’s pin shot worth $136.

Once the final event’s earnings were added to the total, there was only one fairly significant change in the 2011 Leaderboard standings.

Dan Predovic of Berea finished in second place on the season with $1,318.34 and earned unofficial “Rookie of the Year” honors. Predovic also won the individual stroke play “Greater Cleveland Shootout” event on Labor Day Monday, earning $750 for that victory. Predovic had the lead throughout much of the season, but Sotka made a great run at the end.

With his eagle skin on the final night, Blackburn Jr. vault into third place on the final leaderboard standings with $1136.21 for the year.

Carl “Unk” Quercioli was the leading senior player and had an outstanding year, finishing in fourth place.

Mark White finished in fifth, while Mike Angie was the 2011 pinshot leader and finished sixth overall.

The Greater Cleveland Skins game paid out over $13,000 in pins and skins in 2011.

Director John Niedzialek thanked all the players for a great year. “We had a record turn-out and many of the courses gave our players reduced rates and we certainly want to promote those courses in the future. Congratulations to Dave Sotka. It is a long season with many of the top players in Northeast Ohio participating. Give the man his due.”

“A special thanks goes out to Sean Kreft, owner of Mulligan’s Pub and Grill in Highland Heights, who has donated $1,000 to the Greater Cleveland Skins Game over the last two years. It is great to see courses and sponsors supporting amateur players in Northeast Ohio. I invite all amateur players to participate in 2012.”

Steve Blackburn Jr. earned the top spot in the Mulligan’s Pub Season Championship and took home an extra $452 on the year. An extra $1,100 was paid out on Thursday to the top ten finishers in the Mulligan’s season-long point standing.



PLAYERTOTALSkinsSkins $PinsPins $
Dave Sotka$1,728.229$1,437.225$291.00
Dan Predovic$1,318.348$1,033.844$284.50
Steve Blackburn Jr$1,136.2110$1,068.712$67.50
Carl Quercioli$1,063.413$599.915$463.50
Mark White$943.163$708.663$234.50
Mike Angie$898.404$535.906$362.50
Mark Foss$730.063$562.062$168.00
Brian Perkins$699.002$490.004$209.00
Sam Corabi$644.503$644.50
Phil Bojc$553.254$477.752$75.50
Joe Ignat$513.002$425.501$87.50
Mark Borlin$491.502$425.501$66.00
John Niedzialek$488.322$314.323$174.00
Joey DiDonato$417.953$336.952$81.00
Steve Blackburn Sr$409.403$409.40
Paul Kish$402.001$184.003$218.00
Joe Zabukovec$329.952$267.951$62.00
Erron Gomez$327.005$327.00
Geoff Nicely$311.654$311.65
Bobby Delcoco$260.662$260.66
Brian Pentek$253.003$253.00
Rob Schustrich$210.661$168.661$42.00
Danny Marinelli$176.331$176.33
Xiao Di$161.001$161.00
Brian Smith$157.501$115.501$42.00
Bob Karshner$124.201$124.20
Eddie Neer$97.751$97.75
Allen Freeman$94.501$94.50
Previous Weaver Helps Kabasky Overtake Cea in Final Event of 2011 Chippewa Scratch League Season
Next RESULTS: 2011 Manakiki Fall 3-M Scramble